“Glimpse of the Past” is a photographic investigation of the surrounding the Patent Office Building, known as the third oldest federal building, in the District of Columbia; and the Patent Office Building was constructed between 1836 and 1867.
The Old Patent Office Building in Washington D.C. covers an entire city block, and located just south of Chinatown in the Penn Quarter and close to the Verizon Center. The marble and granite museum has porticoes modeled after the Parthenon in Athens, Greece.
This unique exhibit, “Glimpse of the Past“, features photographic images from the 1850s to the present; exhibits the rise, decline and revival of the area. The exhibition will also feature snapshots of the area during the 1960s and1970s made by Washingtonian Chris Earnshaw.
However, this reporter has included a few drawings/paintings to illustrate the earliest history of the Patent Office, you need to see the exhibit first hand because there are many more photos on display.
Today, National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C., administered by the Smithsonian Institution. Its collections focus on images of famous individual Americans of worth and accomplishments. As Norman Rockwell’s exhibition gave us a peep into the American Spirit and their unique personalities … so has the National Portrait Gallery through their collections.
This building houses two Smithsonian Institution museums: the National Portrait Gallery and the
Old Patent Office Building has been renamed “The Donald W. Reynolds Center for American Art and Portraiture.”
After undergoing extensive renovations, the building reopened on July 1, 2006 and was renamed in honor of an extensive gift from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation.
Patent Office Building was used first as a barracks and then as a hospital during the Civil War.
Walt Whitman volunteered as male nurse and used his skills as a basis for “The Wound Dresser“. After the war ended, the Bureau of Indian Affairs moved into the building. Whitman worked as a clerk for the bureau until 1867, when he was fired after a manuscript of “Leaves of Grass” was found in his desk due to its sexual content.
President Dwight D. Eisenhower, in 1958, spared it from demolition by allocation to Smithsonian, which renovated the structure and opened the National Museum of American Art (later renamed the Smithsonian American Art Museum) and joined in 1968 by the National Portrait Gallery.
The Reynolds Center, an American Art Gallery and namesake for the name of its metro stop sign named Gallery Place Washington Metro station, located across the intersection of F and 8th Streets,N.W.